What does “vegan” mean?
A vegan is someone who avoids consuming anything which comes from a non-human animal or an insect. This includes chickens, eggs, fish, milk, lobster, and honey.
Food Empowerment Project (F.E.P.) promotes veganism for ethical reasons and we want to make sure you are fully informed about this compassionate choice.
Vegans avoid leather, wool, silk, and honey because these products depend on the same kind of exploitation and cruelty that animals farmed for food suffer and have similarly negative consequences for the environment. Vegans also avoid purchasing products that contain animal ingredients and products that were tested on animals. They also seek not to participate in the suffering of animals used in entertainment, such as marine parks and circuses that have animals.
The term vegan is also used to differentiate consumer items which contain only plant-based ingredients (and are not tested on animals) from those which involve animal ingredients (such as: “This cake is vegan; it does not contain eggs or milk”).